Who We Are

The Equality International Film Festival (EIFF) celebrates 9 seasons of worldwide cinematic excellence that showcase diversity, investigate diaspora, and advance equality on a global level.

This year, we're returning to the real world. EIFF remains flexible with COVID-19 in the event that the numbers rise. The festival’s events will be held on Dec. 8th, 9th, and 10th, 2023.

Our submission selections include semi-finalists and finalists. All submissions will be eligible for our specialty awards. These awards will be announced on the night of the awards ceremony.

The final film selections will be viewed on December 9th. December 10th will be the awards ceremony that will be held in person and will be available via streaming online. Details about tickets will be available on Sep. 22.


EIFF prides itself in its unique approach to showcasing diversity. Previous winners have spanned the world submitting films that have addressed systemic poverty, LGNTQ diaspora, natural disasters, political conflicts, child and elderly advocacy, and everyday life issues. Submitters have come from all walks of life; disabled, vision and hearing impaired, developing countries, women, and a host of additional demographics.


EIFF Official Selection consists of the top films in each of the categories offered. EIFF screens its Official Selection/Finalist Films for the first two days with a question-and-answer panel discussion after each final film screening.

On the third day, EIFF hosts its’ Grand Awards Ceremony which includes red carpet/press, banquet, networking, exhibition booths, and a ceremony to announce the award winners. Awards are both competitive and recognition-based awards including Best Feature-Length, Best Short Film, Best Written Narrative, Best Direction, Best Documentary Short, Best Documentary Feature Spirit of the Festival, Audience Choice Award, and selected regional awards. Celebrities frequently attend our themed parties, emcee our Grand Awards Ceremony, and are always eager and ready to network with filmmakers.